HOCUS POCUS!

hocus-pocus

379578167_b9deb3e4e6_o

381103802_400ccc39b8_o

photos by: iya from coworx

today i introduce to you my new favorite group in the world…

Hocus Pocus is a bit like a UFO floating through today’s hip-hop landscape: composed of 5 members, including the multi-talented producer, MC and DJ 20Syl (pronounced VinCeel), their music is made using real instruments (bass guitar, drums, Rhodes, Horns…). Often compared to The Roots, and influenced by the work of producers such as Jay Dee and Pete Rock, Hocus Pocus is an instrumental hip-hop band, fusing the traditional elements of making hip-hop (samples, beat loops, scratches, rapping, etc…) with an acoustic sound directly influenced by jazz, funk and soul.

i´ve been listening to their sound non-stop for a while, so i decided to create an illustration about their track “Hip Hop ?'” about the stereotypes of hip hop style and real meaning of all the Hip Hop world…

can´t get enough of this!


10 responses to “HOCUS POCUS!

  1. Gostei da ilustração ! : )

    Já conhecia Hocus Pocus, adoro o video da “Hip Hop?”!
    O 20syl tem beats altamente, e videos de beatmaking no youtube…
    check it:

    😀

  2. Currently my fave for over a year, since I last started listening to them! Top sounds!

  3. YOOOO Piggy Smals
    Graaaanda banda, e a ilustraçao ficou bem doce 🙂
    curto bue

    Nunca tinha chekado o teu piggy blog, agora venho ca sempre e o caraças..

  4. Eu acho que… Santa Combadão!!

  5. Não sei porquê, os meus comentários não estão a aparecer aqui, weird.

    Anyway, era a dizer que o 20syl tem uns beats do caraças, que também curto Hocus Pocus, e que a ilustração tá cool like that!! Like the type!! E o monograma no cap hahaha

  6. Não, eu até acho que Salazar, apesar de td, era um homem charmoso!!

    Santa Comba Dão, foi o nome que eu sempre adorei, melhor, como gostava que a minha terra se chamasse.
    Mas tb posso ir a Coina ou Picha!

  7. “Não, eu até acho que Salazar, apesar de td, era um homem charmoso!!”
    odeio o salazar, só fez merda e atrasou este pais mil anos dammit.
    boa ilustração piggy face of a frog 🙂

  8. hhahahah, a voz sábia do mago Espanhol!

    concordo plenamente,mas achei que me podia descontrolar e magoar os sentimentos da Joana =P

    thanks gringo!

Leave a Reply

